“The Time Has Come” for one of this generation’s boxing icons Nonito “The Flash” Donaire to bring pride to Filipinos

 

P-B_D_B_FB_AD_GUIDE_hassle_freeTFC to air history-making Donaire – Bedak fight on the network’s IPTV platform in key regions, via cable partners in North America and via TFC.tv worldwide

 As a purveyor of the Filipino greatness across various fields and in the face of challenges, The Filipino Channel (TFC), a global brand that brings world-class content, including the most widely distributed premium and on demand channel showing Filipino content on several platforms internationally, is bringing one of this year’s much-anticipated fights, “The Time Has Come: Donaire Vs. Bedak” on April 23, worldwide.

After one of the world’s greatest boxing fighters Emmanuel “Manny” Pacquiao ended his illustrious career with a milestone, unanimous decision from the judges in his recent bout against AmericanDesert Storm Timothy Bradley, it is indeed the time for his predecessors to continue waving the flag of Filipino pride in the international boxing arena.

After the so-called golden age of Philippine boxing began in 1990s, Pacquiao dominated the boxing scene.  This time, ringside champs such as Donnie “Ahas” Nietes, Randy “Ultra Tune” Petalcorin of the Light Flyweight Division and former four-weight world champion Donaire are keeping the fires of Philippine boxing alive.

Specifically at “The Time Has Come,” Donaire, the third Asian to win three world titles in three weight divisions (when he defeated Mexican Fernando Montiel) and clinched the World Boxing Council (WBC) and World Boxing Organization (WBO) Bantamweight Championships in 2011, is now set to fight for his title as World Super Bantamweight Champion against Hungary’s number 1 boxer Zsolt “Mr. Left Hook” Bedak.

Donaire who looks up to idol Manny “Pacman” Pacquiao said that he has been working doubly for the fight to retain his crown and all the more to prove his own clout.  In the words of Donaire, “The time has come for the new generation to rise and show the world what the Filipino is about and that we are here to stay.”

Donaire adds that at the end of the day, one cannot only win with sheer skill.  “I believe that hard work does beat talent.  Keep working, working and working.  If you have the talent and you believe in it, no one can touch you.”

On April 23, Donaire will battle with WBO No. 4 fighter Bedak, also a left-hooker at the Cebu City Sports Complex.  While Bedak (25 wins, 1 loss, 0 draws) will fight Donaire (33 wins, 23 KOs, 3 losses and 0 draws) with a home country advantage, Bedak continues to be unfazed because he says anything can happen in boxing.  Bedak through his interpreter said “I came here not only to fight but also to win.”

Sports analysts are saying Bedak is a pressure fighter and this will challenge Donaire.

However, Donaire’s father and trainor Nonito Donaire Sr. is confident.  “We are not taking this fight lightly.  Everyone who is fighting Donaire are looking at an upset.  We are trying our best for this not to happen.”

Joining Donaire in bannering the Filipino galing are Mark Magsayo who will battle Chris Avalon for the International Featherweight Championship, Jason Pagara who will battle Miguel “Mikol” Zamudio of Mexico, Jeo Santisima versus Tabthong Tor Buamas of Thailand and Rocky Fuentes who will faceRomnick Magos.

Witness the Donaire – Bedak fight via TFC’s IPTV platform in North America, Middle East, Europe (except Hungary), Japan, Australia and New Zealand; cable operators in North America (including Guam) via inDemand in the U.S. and Rogers, Telus, MTS and Sasktel in Canada among others, and TFC.tv worldwide.
Catch the fight at these times:
April 23 at 3:00 a.m. Pacific time and 6:00 a.m. Eastern Standard time; April 23 at 1 p.m. KSA time and 2 p.m. UAE time; 8 p.m. Australia time and 10 p.m. New Zealand time; April 23 at 7 p.m. Tokyo time; April 23 at 11 a.m. UK time and April 23 at 12 p.m. Italy time.
The undercard fights will not be available under VOD after the fight.

For further inquiries, call 1-877-884-6832 (U.S.); 1-855-832-2632 (CA); 800 345 2465 (EU); 9714 390 2180 (ME); 0120 832 863 (JP); and 1800 227 226 (AU and NZED).

You can also visit www.tfc-usa.com, www.tfc-ca.com; emea.kapamilya.com and TFC’s facebook pages in Japan, Australia and New Zealand.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s